Home / Food & Nutrition / Is Butter Gluten Free?

Is Butter Gluten Free?

So many people out there cannot tolerate gluten. They have questions about food that may or may not be gluten free. It is a common question from people with gluten intolerance or who have celiac disease. Keep reading to learn if you can add butter to your diet if you have issues like gluten intolerance.

Is Butter Gluten Free?

Yes, the plain butter is gluten-free. Butter and margarine are gluten free because they are not made from grain, but not all types of butter are free from gluten. Many varieties are not because they have additives that may contain gluten.

How manufacturers process butter will also determine if it is completely gluten free or not. You can, however, opt for organic butter from some popular brands because they may not contain gluten. Some brands including Smart Balance, Land of Lakes, Organic Valley, and Earth Balance are all gluten-free and you can eat without having to worry about anything. Still, it makes sense to have a look at those labels before making a purchase.

Gluten and Celiac Disease

Many people ask, “Is butter gluten free?” They do it because they cannot tolerate gluten. Gluten is basically a mixture of proteins present in wheat and other grains, including rye and barley. It is used in many products because it gives elasticity to dough and helps give it a good shape and a chewy texture. People suffering from celiac disease cannot tolerate gluten when it comes into contact with the small intestine. It is worth pointing out that celiac disease is a genetic condition, which means that if someone in your family and close relatives has it you may also develop it at some stage in life.

What Are the Symptoms of Celiac Disease?

If you are not sure, you should look for certain symptoms and talk to your doctor for confirmation. Here are some of the most common symptoms associated with celiac disease.

  • You will experience digestive issues, such as pain, abdominal bloating, diarrhea, gas, weight loss, and pale stools.
  • You may develop a severe skin rash after eating gluten.
  • You may experience musculoskeletal problems such as joint pain, muscles cramps, and bone pain.
  • You may notice growth problems in children with celiac disease.
  • You may also develop iron deficiency anemia and have seizures, missed menstrual periods, sores in the mouth, and tingling sensation in the legs caused by low calcium and nerve damage.

Other Gluten Free Food

Instead of asking “Is butter gluten free or not”, you can enjoy some other food that does not contain gluten. For instance:

  • Distilled alcohol, but avoid beer because it may contain gluten.
  • Dairy products, such as cream, milk, cottage cheese, cream cheese, margarine, and eggs. Avoid processed cheese blends because they may not be gluten free.
  • Deserts, such as ice cream, sorbet, sherbet, whipped topping, popsicles, and egg custards. Several gluten-free desert mixes are also available in the market.
  • Meats, poultry, and fish are also gluten-free, but avoid anything that is marinated or breaded. You can find gluten-free marinades as well.
  • Almost all nuts and oils are good to eat because they do not contain gluten.

What’s more, you can consume fresh fruits and vegetables. Canned and frozen vegetables and fruits are good to eat unless they contain fillers or additives. Moreover, all sorts of dried and fresh herbs as well as garlic, spices, and onion powder are also gluten free.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *